MINUTES

California Alternative Energy and Advanced Transportation Financing Authority 915 Capitol Mall, Room 587 Sacramento, California July 15, 2014

1. CALL TO ORDER & ROLL CALL

Bettina Redway, Chairperson, called the California Alternative Energy and Advanced Transportation Financing Authority (CAEATFA or Authority) meeting to order at 10:31 a.m.

Members Present: Bettina Redway for Bill Lockyer, State Treasurer

Natalie Sidarous for John Chiang, State Controller

Eraina Ortega for Michael Cohen, Director,

Department of Finance

Kevin Barker for Robert B. Weisenmiller, Chair,

California Energy Commission

Paul Clanon for Michael R. Peevey, President,

Public Utilities Commission

Staff Present: Deana J. Carrillo, Executive Director

Sherri Kay Wahl, Deputy Executive Director

Quorum: The Chairperson declared a quorum

2. MINUTES

Ms. Redway asked if there were any questions or comments concerning the June 17, 2014 meeting minutes. There were none.

Ms. Redway asked if there was a motion.

Mr. Clanon moved for approval of the minutes; upon a second from Ms. Ortega, the minutes were unanimously approved.

3. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Ms. Carrillo began her report by introducing Ashley Bonnett, a new analyst for CAEATFA. Ms. Bonnett has long been interested in public service and received a bachelor's degree of arts in political science from UCLA. She then went on to earn her Juris Doctor with a focus on public policy from McGeorge School of Law. Ms. Bonnett has worked at several private

law offices and was a law clerk at CalRecycle while attending McGeorge School of Law. CAEATFA is glad she is part of the team and looks forward to her contribution to CAEATFA's efforts.

Ms. Carrillo stated that Staff would present two informational items. The first was an overview of CAEATFA's role as the California Hub for Energy Efficiency Financing (CHEEF), provided by Sarah Taheri. She noted that Staff provided a similar overview in late 2013, and the presentation today would inform the Board of the various contracts and regulations that would be coming before it for consideration over the next several months. Ms. Carrillo introduced Ms. Taheri.

Ms. Taheri provided a PowerPoint presentation explaining CAEATFA's role as the CHEEF.

Ms. Carrillo stated that the second informational item was a presentation by Alejandro Ruiz on the Board of Equalization's (BOE) Manufacturing Sales and Use Tax Exemption Program and how it relates to CAEATFA's Sales and Use Tax Exclusion Program.

Mr. Ruiz provided a presentation explaining the BOE's Manufacturing Sales and Use Tax Exemption Program and how it relates to CAEATFA's Sales and Use Tax Exclusion Program.

Ms. Carrillo continued her report by informing the Board of actions taken under the Executive Director's delegated authority. On June 25, 2014 CAEATFA entered into a contract with Sjoberg Evashenk Consulting for \$49,904.00 to look at CAEATFA's staffing infrastructure. The other contract Ms. Carrillo signed on June 30, 2014 in the amount of \$45,000.00 was for a trustee for CAEATFA's PACE Loss Reserve Program with Zions First National Bank. Ms. Carrillo concluded her report.

4. BUSINESS ITEMS

A. REQUEST TO AMEND STE RESOLUTION 14-SM006 TO CHANGE THE PARTICIPATING PARTY FROM RECOLOGY, INC. TO RECOLOGY BIOENERGY

Presented by: Alejandro Ruiz, Analyst

On June 19, 2014 Recology Inc. submitted a request to transfer the STE financial assistance from Recology Inc. to Recology Bioenergy. Recology Bioenergy is a whollyowned subsidiary of Recology Inc. Recology Bioenergy will be the subsidiary operating the biogas and capture production project approved by CAEATFA on May 20, 2014.

Ms. Ortega moved for approval and there was a second from Ms. Sidarous.

Ms. Redway stated there was a motion and a second and asked if there were any questions or comments from the Board or public. There were none and the item was unanimously approved.

5. PUBLIC COMMENT

Ms. Redway asked if there were any comments from the public. There were none.

6. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, public comments, or concerns, the meeting adjourned at 10:58 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Deana J. Carrillo Executive Director